How to Watch Free! in Order: Free! Watch Order

In Free! is about the competitive swimmer Haruka Nanase, who founds a swimming club with his friends and takes part in tournaments. We explain in which order (Free! Watch Order) you watch the anime series correctly.

Free! Watch Order

Free! Watch Order
Free! © Kyoto Animation

Childhood friends Haruka, Nagisa and Makoto reunite with Rin, a former member of their swimming club, after many years. After Haruka was trounced by Haruka in a competition, the three set out to find a fourth member for the revived Iwatobi Swim Club to face Rin in an official competition.

They come across Rei, who is actually in the athletics club and can’t swim at all. But they have no other choice. The Anime Free! includes multiple seasons and movies that may cause confusion. We explain the correct Free! Watch Order to you.

Free! Seasons and Movies in Chronological Order

2013 celebrated the first season of Free! her Japanese TV premiere. A lot has happened in the franchise since then: several seasons have followed suit and some films have also been produced. To understand the plot, you should put the spin-offs in a chronological context to the series. We think the following Free! Watch Order works best for this:

  • Free! Starting Days (movie, 2015)
  • Free! (Season 1, 2013)
  • Free! Eternal Summer (Season 2, 2014)
  • Free! Take Your Marks (movie, 2017)
  • Free! Dive to the Future (Season 3, 2018)
  • Free! The Finale Stroke (Movie, 2021)

Some of the films that have appeared in recent years do not tell their own story, but only act as a recap (repetition) of the series. We have therefore ignored these in our list. By the way, you can also check the anime by its release date. Chronologically, Free! However, Starting Days before the first season.